### Western Adelaide Coastal Residents' Association Inc.

## AGM 30th March 2016

**Apologies** Bethany Boetcher, Val Wales, Paul Caica, Anna Shepherd, Greg Cashel, Lynn Walsh, Kenzie van den Nieuwelaar, Lara Hollamby, Ian Dyson

Attendance: 26

**Acceptance of AGM minutes for 2015:** moved David Schofield, Seconded Richard Smith Passed Unanimously

# **Treasurer's Report**

A good year financially thanks to Anne Wheaton as membership secretary keeping subscriptions up to date, and the film and quiz nights were very good.

We have in our Term deposit \$3000, due May 31st, and a working balance of \$3886. Our main expense is the insurance. Our books will be given to our auditors this week.

Report Received - Moved Chrissy Schultz, seconded Fernando Goncalves passed unanimously.

## **President's Report**

Jim Douglas gave only an abbreviated report at the meeting since the activities of Wacra are well documented in our regular quarterly newsletters and communicated to our 300 members and supporters through Anne Wheaton's emails and our website <a href="https://www.wacra.org.au">www.wacra.org.au</a> - many thanks to the work of Andrea Rankin - and Facebook.

The Issues in which we were involved included:

The Torrens 3rd Wetland
West Beach and the beach erosion
Groundwater leaking from the Antunes Development
Climate change and the Adapt West program
Jet Skis
Coast Park and Tennyson Dunes
Henley Square Redevelopment
Poles Apart - Community Art
Car parking
Transforming health
Pensioner Rates and Rebates

Affiliations & Representations

Conservation Council
Community Alliance - represented by Theo
Environmental Defenders Office
Marine Discovery Centre

#### Western Adelaide Coastal Residents' Association Inc.

Among other things we made presentations at:

The State Coastal Conference 'Challenging Coastal Science from a Community Perspective'

We gave a presentation to Gulf St Vincent Community Forum to oppose the copper mine

Discretionary Ward Allowances

We asked Council for \$3000 for interpretative signs for Biodiversity Pathway but it was refused.

We also asked for funding for Earth Hour but that was also knocked back.

We have made an application for a Commonwealth grant for a computer

Anne Wheaton made 2 powerpoint presentations on the mosaics which have been put up on website

Have asked for funding for South Poles as part of the Council's Place-Maker grants

Our Biannual guiz night and the film 'Last cab to Darwin' were a great success.

And a big thanks to everyone and a special thanks to David Schofield who is retiring from the Committee but will still help when needed.

Moved Richard Smith Seconded Pedro schultz

Andrea Rankin will put the President's Report up on the website

Election of Officers - conducted by Paul Laris

President - Jim Douglas Secretary - Alan goldsmith Assistant Secretary - Richard Smith

Treasurer - Theo Ellenbroek

Membership Officer - Anne Wheaton

Vice President - Paul Laris

Executive Members: Andrea Rankin, Pedro Schultz, Lynn Walsh, Marilyn Bruhn, Kenzie van den Nieuwelaar, Lara Hollamby, Julie Whitehead, Anne Wheaton and Fernando Goncalves.

Don Lewis - public officer

Moved Jim Douglas Approved by acclamation.